Common Misdemeanor DUI Penalties

San Diego Lawyers Explain DUI Penalties

Common Misdemeanor DUI PenaltiesA San Diego DUI conviction carries serious consequences. The following is a list of legal consequences stemming from a DUI conviction that are common to San Diego. Remember these do not take into account the psychological, social, and career consequences. Also, these are not a reflection of the maximum penalties under the law, but only what we know as what the normal penalties are in San Diego.

DUI First Conviction

  • 5 years of Summary Probation
  • Possible jail sentence
  • DMV suspends license for 6 months (1 year if defendant refused a chemical test)
  • Court fine of approximately $2,000
  • Public Work Service Assignment of up to 15 days (amount of Public Work Service depends on Blood Alcohol Concentration)
  • Completion of the First Conviction Program
  • Completion of the MADD Impact Panel
  • Interlock Ignition Device installed on defendant’s vehicle
  • Referral to the Substance Abuse Assessment Unit at the Court
  • Standard Alcohol Conditions while on Probation
  • Advisal that DUI is dangerous pursuant to California Vehicle Code 23593 (If defendant commits DUI in the future that results in a death, defendant may be charged with murder)

DUI Second Conviction

  • 5 years of Summary Probation
  • Mandatory jail sentence (96 hours mandatory)
  • DMV suspends license for 1 year
  • Court fine of approximately $2,500
  • Public Work Service Assignment of up to 30 days (amount of Public Work Service depends on Blood Alcohol Concentration)
  • Completion of the Multiple Conviction Program
  • Completion of the MADD Impact Panel
  • Interlock Ignition Device installed on defendant’s vehicle
  • Referral to the Substance Abuse Assessment Unit at the Court
  • Standard Alcohol Conditions While on Probation.
  • Advisal that DUI is dangerous pursuant to California Vehicle Code 23593 (If defendant commits DUI in the future that results in a death, defendant may be charged with murder)

DUI Third Conviction

  • 5 years of Summary Probation
  • Mandatory jail sentence (120 days mandatory)
  • DMV revokes license for 3 years
  • Court fine of approximately $2,800
  • Completion of the Multiple Conviction Program
  • Completion of the MADD Impact Panel
  • 90 day vehicle impound
  • Defendant designated as a habitual offender¬†California Vehicle Code 23546(b)
  • Interlock Ignition Device installed on defendant’s vehicle
  • Referral to the Substance Abuse Assessment Unit at the Court
  • Standard Alcohol Conditions While on Probation.
  • Advisal that DUI is dangerous pursuant to California Vehicle Code 23593 (If defendant commits DUI in the future that results in a death, defendant may be charged with murder)

Learn More…

If you are charged with a Traffic Misdemeanor or DUI, hire San Diego’s best traffic law firm. We can help you get a great result on your case. To learn more about our procedures and how we can represent you, call us at 619-649-2424 or email our attorneys at attorneys@hullingerfirm.com.

Request A Free Consultation

Fill out my online form.

Scott Hullinger, Esq.

Scott Hullinger, Esq.

Criminal and Civil Attorney

View